Trainee Committee | Association of Anaesthetists

Trainee Committee

Trainee Committee

The Trainee Committee provides a focus for the interests of trainee members of the Association and to represent trainee views at the Board of Directors and other Association Committees.

Through its work the committee promotes training, the practice of anaesthesia, and communication amongst trainee anaesthetists. It works with the Education Committee and events team to plan the Trainee Conference and contribute to trainee specific elements of the Association educational programme.

In addition to their work representing the interests of trainees within the Association, committee members also represent the Association trainee members through external consultation with other medical organisations.

You can contact the Trainee Committee on

Trainee Committee members

Dr Naomi Freeman, 
ST7 South East Scotland School of Anaesthesia



Dr Stuart Edwardson, Honorary Secretary 
South East Scotland School of Anaesthesia


Dr Louise Swan, Vice Chair
ST6 Northern School of Anaesthesia & Intensive Care

Louise Swan

Dr Kathryn Singh, Trainee Network Lead ST3
Imperial School of Anaesthesia, North West London

kathryn singh

Dr Katherine Brooks ST7 Barts and the London School of Anaesthesia


Dr Ugonna Chukwumaife
North West School of Anaesthetics


Dr Ben Hockenhull
 ST7 Stoke on Trent School of Anaesthesia

Ben Hockenhull

Dr Sarah Marsden
 ST3 Yorkshire and the Humber School of Anaesthesia

Dr James Brooks
Severn Deanery

James Brooks

Dr Ben Evans
CT2 Core Anaesthetics Trainee
North East of England

Dr Ben Evans

Dr Luke Flower
Central London School of Anaesthesia

Luke Flower

Dr Sarah Louise Galea
Mercy University Hospital

Sarah Galea - Profile Pic Trainee Committee 

Dr Leyla Turkoglu
CT2 Core Anaesthetics Trainee
East of England deanery

Dr Layla Turkoglu

Dr Allan Xu
North Central and East London

Allan Xu

Co-opted members

Dr Stephen Adshead
Military Trainee Committee  
Dr Nilofer Ahmed
SAS Committee representative  
Dr Divya Raviraj
Immediate Past Trainee Committee Chair
Dr Gary Rodgers
RCoA representative

Dr James Collins British Medical Association Junior Doctor Committee